Skip to content

Bombshell Swimsuit is Complete!

I’ve finished the Bombshell Swimsuit!  I took some photos for you to see the finished product and just how awesome this swimsuit is.  The blue gingham is very fitting for this swimsuit, don’t you think?

I love how this swimsuit flatters the figure!

I love how this swimsuit flatters the figure!

I followed the sew-along and found it complimented the instructions included with the pattern very well.  Heather Lou did a great job of spreading the sew-along out over a few different posts and even elaborated on certain parts, such as sewing in the bra cups.  (As a side note, when I sew my next suit, I will sew in the cups prior to attaching the lining to the front piece as it’s was a bit tricky to sew in the cups with the lining attached. Dixie DIY does a great job of explaining how to sew bra cups  in a swimsuit here and Heather Lou includes a link to Dixie’s post in her sew-along as well.)

Even though I could have taken 2 more inches off the top elastic, I'm perfectly happy with the fit.

Even though I could have shortened the top elastic more, I’m perfectly happy with the fit.

I was a little worried the gathers would add extra bulk to my butt however they seem to have the opposite affect.  I find them so flattering that I’m going to sew myself a pair of bathing suit bottoms with the same effect to wear with a bikini top.  (The pattern actually includes a bottoms-only option.)

The gathers certainly help to flatter the derriere!

The gathers certainly help to flatter the derriere!

The elastics around all the openings work great.  While I stayed in the same spot for the pictures, in between shots I was testing out how well the suit would stay in place with movement (because realistically, who sits statue-still at the beach?!).  No problem – the suit stayed in place with little to no adjustments required.

I need some beach-appropriate sunglasses to wear with my new suit instead of my running sunglasses!

I need some beach-appropriate sunglasses to wear with my new suit instead of my running sunglasses!

I used my serger throughout this project with wooly nylon for my loopers (I used a 3-thread narrow over-lock) and it worked great!  As for my sewing machine, I used a walking foot and a stretch needle and because of the specialty thread in my serger and the walking foot and stretch needle on my sewing machine, I powered through this project because I didn’t want to have to switch everything over to sew something else.  (Isn’t it funny how changing a foot and needle or rethreading seems to like such a nuisance yet it takes almost no time at all to actually do?  I wonder why?)

At first glance, it’s easy to think this suit is complicated to sew however I didn’t really find the difficulty level to be that high. I’d definitely recommend giving it a go.  There are lots of gathers and the trickiest bit with them is to ensure they are spread out evenly.  I found inserting the bra cups to be the most challenging but otherwise, everything else was fairly straight forward.  While this project may be a bit intimidating for someone just starting out learning how to sew, it shouldn’t be restricted to only the experienced sewers.

I'll definitely be wearing my Bombshell again this summer!

I’ll definitely be wearing my Bombshell again this summer!

All in all, I’m thrilled with my new wardrobe piece.  We’ve had amazing weather here in BC so far this summer and there’s no end in sight so I’m sure I’ll have plenty of opportunities to wear my Bombshell throughout August.

So that’s the Bombshell!  Have you made one yourself yet? If not, is this a project you’d be willing to give a go?  Let me know what you think!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

