Skip to content

My Sewing Bucket List

A few weeks back, my husband (Mr SA) and I took mini-sewer (our 10 year old daughter) camping into the Boundary area of BC (Boundary Country is nestled in Southern BC between the Okanagan and the Kootenays). It was four days of being totally off-line.  No internet, no cel phone, and no computers.  Of course that meant no sewing machines either.  Or reading sewing blogs.  And on a totally separate note, no sleep either due to the one-star accommodations we stayed in commonly referred to as tenting.  (The things we do for our children!) But I digress.  Since Mr SA is an avid outdoor enthusiast, we of course had to go on a hike and decided on a short but steep one close to our campgrounds.  Here’s a picture of the view from the top. Isn’t it lovely?

SAM_1063

I’m sure you’re wondering what the heck this has to do with sewing.  Well mini-sewer did not inherit her dad’s enthusiasm for hiking so getting her up to the top required a fair amount of talking on our part to help distract her from her misery. So what’s a mom obsessed with sewing to talk about? My sewing bucket list of course!

Note: Mr SA would like me to point out that he did NOT choose the topic and if he had any say what-so-ever, he would have preferred to talk about sports. *yawn*

While my list is a lot longer (sometimes I fear a little too long), I wanted to share the top five because I’m hoping to knock most of them off my list in the next year.  So in no particular order, here they are:

1. Jeans.

Jalie Patterns

Jalie Patterns

Can you believe I’ve never sewed myself a pair?! I’ve always wanted to sew a pair of jeans for myself. Jeans are a favourite staple in my wardrobe so it only makes sense that I would sew myself a pair.  I’ve signed up for Kenneth King’s Craftsy class and have already watched his classes all the way through (sans sewing along with him), which has definitely motivated me to tackle this project. I have just the perfect pair of jeans I’m going to use for the Craftsy class. I’ve also ordered the jeans pattern from Jalie Patterns so this may actually be the year I sew a pair of jeans!

2. Active Wear

Jalie Patterns

Jalie Patterns

As I mentioned above, we’re a fairly active family so I’m constantly on the look out for comfortable outfits that will cover what I need it to cover but without restricting my movement. I know sewing active wear can be a bit tricky because of the reverse ease (is that what it’s referred to as???) but I’m feeling so confident after sewing the Bombshell Swimsuit that I’m willing to give active wear a go. Plus, I’ve been feeling somewhat obligated to sew something for my other half and since he goes through workout clothes like mad, I figure if I sew them for him instead of buying them, I can use the money I save for more fabric. Now that’s a win-win as far as I’m concerned! (I’ll just have to work on convincing him how great this idea is.  He isn’t at all as pumped about it as I am since he doesn’t wear spandex or anything tight to work out in (he can be such a downer sometimes!)  I’m leaning towards this pattern (for myself, not Mr SA) however I’m still on the lookout. Let me know if you have any suggestions!

3. Outerwear

Oh hello beautiful 1930s coat. Someday I'm going to make you.

Oh hello beautiful 1930s coat. Someday I’m going to make you.

I LOVE outerwear! Not as much as my mother-in-law who owns a kajillion coats. Okay, I may be exaggerating slightly. Anyway, the point is, I love jackets of all types. I live in BC where the climate requires outerwear of some sort throughout most of the year, even on the occasional summer evening. I’m not a fan of our climate but I do think it’s a plus that jackets are required because I love them so much.  I’m a bit embarrassed to admit I haven’t sewed any such thing for myself yet so it definitely ranks in the top five on my bucket list.  I already own the Robson Coat and the Minoru Jacket patterns from Sewaholic so I imagine they’ll be first up but one day soon, I’m going to sew a jacket for myself like the one in the picture.  That will definitely be a post!

4. Button-down Shirt

The possibilities for the classic button down are endless!

The possibilities for the classic button down are endless!

While I have sewed a button-down shirt in the past, it didn’t turn out as well as I had envisioned it would. Truth to tell, I wouldn’t even wear it, that’s how bad it was. There is a slight possibility it’s because my old beast-of-a-machine (Singer) did a terrible job with button holes (or it could have just been my skill level at the time – perhaps a bit of both?) but I am now the proud owner of a new (last spring) sewing machine that has an automatic button-hole part so I’m feeling especially brave about the button-down shirt these days.

5.  Design a Sewing Pattern (or two or as many as I’m inspired to!)

DSCN0737

Which is the main reason I’ve enrolled into the fashion arts program.  It’s something I’ve always wanted to do but thought it too difficult.  Mostly because I’m not into high-fashion and have never considered myself to be a fashionista. But you know, I’m not looking to be the next big thing – I’ll be happy even if I’m the only one who ever uses the patterns I design.  I’m going to design sewing patterns.  How cool is that?!

What about you? Do you have a sewing bucket list? If so, what sorts of things are on it? I’d love to know what they are if you do – maybe you’ll give me some more ideas to add to mine!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Gertie #

    How about hallowe’en costumes for mini sewer? That used to be one of my favourite things when I had little ones at home. Or adult ones, come to think of it – turned my sister in law and her husband into a pair of dice one time, which got them first prize at the pub that night.

    It’s something you can really have fun with and let your imagination go wild. Might even be good practice for pattern design because if it’s not perfect who cares?

    August 12, 2013
    • Making Halloween costumes can definitely be fun! I once made Raggedy Ann & Andy costumes and they turned out great – I had a lot of fun making them. Definitely an idea to practice pattern design. Congratulations on first place!

      August 13, 2013
  2. Great bucket list! To be honest, I keep trying to work up the nerve to make myself a pair of jeans (since I wear them allll the time), but I just can’t bring myself to try it! I definitely recommend the Grainline buttondown pattern, if you like that sort of relaxed fit. It was really fun to sew!

    August 12, 2013
    • Good to know I’m not alone in the jeans department! Thanks for the pattern recommendation – I purchased the pattern so who knows, maybe I’ll get to it this year yet!

      August 13, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Coco’s Closet – My 1 Year Sewing Challenge | The Sewing Affair
  2. Vintage Pattern Love – Simplicity 3186 | The Sewing Affair

Leave a Reply

