Skip to content

September in a Nutshell

It’s like I blinked and September was over.  What a month!  And I mean that in a good way though it was at the expense of blog posts and sadly, there wasn’t a whole lot of sewing either.  But there were other events that still made September a great month.

School is in session!  Mr SA, Mini Sewer and I all started school this month so it’s taken a few weeks to get our schedules sorted out and a routine in place.  I’m super excited to be studying Fashion Arts and from the start of my first class, I knew I made the right decision.  What’s my favourite part?  I’m not sure I can pick just one thing!  I love sewing on the industrial machines, though holy smokes, I realize I have quite the lead foot and those machines sure do go fast!  It’s a wonder I haven’t stitched my hand to one of my projects yet.  I’m really liking the pattern drafting class as well and surprisingly, I thought I would dread the fashion illustration class but I’m actually really enjoying it too.  Who knew there was an artist in me waiting to emerge?!  (Not really – check out my croquis!  It’s a good thing I’m taking a course, right?)

Check out the extra-long arms. Hahaha!

Check out the extra-long arms. Hahaha!

It’s been a busy, busy time over at Sewaholic as well.  I’ve been busy helping but just as busy learning!  You know that saying “you don’t know what you don’t know”?  Well, that was me this past month.  It was definitely a month of learning for me and I’m excited to get back into full swing with sewing now that we’ve settled into a routine so I can start putting to practice what I’ve learned.

I placed my first ever Telio order!  Telio is a wholesale fabric distributor for fashion and home décor and lucky us living in the Lower Mainland, they have an office here in Vancouver.  It’s incredible how much fabric they have to choose from!  The most difficult part of the whole process was narrowing my choices down to just a handful.  It’s a bit of a milestone for me because it means I’m getting serious about the business of sewing!

I attended a sewing group, and it was so much fun.  I’m always so envious when I read about other sewing bloggers meeting up as a group but never around the Lower Mainland.  It was the first meet-up for the group and there were only three of us Lisa (Thimblelisa), and Carley (Sew Good) but it was still lots of fun to sit around and chat with others who love to sew!  If you live in the Lower Mainland and are interested in joining us, you can find more information here.

Well, that about sums up my September.  I narrowly squeaked in two garments for my one year challenge, which I’ll be posting about shortly but there wasn’t a whole lot of other sewing done in September.  I’ll be sure to make up for that in October!  Here’s a sneak peak at the fabric I used for my September garments.

Can you guess what I'm making?

Can you guess what I’m making?

Happy sewing!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

