Skip to content

Goodbye October

Ah, October.  What a month you’ve been!  I didn’t get much of a chance to blog but it sure has been a busy month!  This post is a few days late but I want to keep up the momentum of monthly summaries.

School seems to be taking up much of my spare time.  As I’m in the evening class program, there’s a lot of work that has to be done at home.  I’m starting to get quite the selection of blocks and there’s still more we have to make.  We’ve started using Goauche in our illustration class, and I’m even learning some tricks in the sewing class.  School has definitely been a highlight for me this month.

As usual, my time at Sewaholic is amazing and I never walk away without having learned something.  I’m beyond grateful for the experience and the opportunity, that’s for sure!

Not a whole lot of projects were accomplished this month.  My full-time job involves some travelling so I was away quite a lot this month, which certainly interfered with my precious sewing time!  Though I did manage to make Mini-sewer a costume.  This was a beast to make and since it deserves a post all on its own, I won’t go into details here. (Mini-sewer didn’t want me blogging about it until after Halloween.)

Can you guess who Mini-sewer dressed up as for Halloween?

Can you guess who Mini-sewer dressed up as for Halloween?  Yikes!  I’ve just noticed how dirty the lens on my camera is.

The only other garment I made this month is for myself and isn’t quite finished.  To tell the truth, I was waiting for a specific sewing class, which we just had last week so I just have to finish up!

My knitting has also taken a bit of a back-burner as it’s something I work on during spare moments but there hasn’t been a whole lot of those this month!  I did finish a scarf and a toque so I’m feeling pretty good about that!  I also took another knitting lesson Angela from Cedar Box Knits at Valley Yarn to learn how to cable so my current project is a scarf that has cabling in it.  Cabling is certainly a little trickier than straight forward knitting and pearling!  You can check out a picture of the scarf and the pattern here.

Coco’s Closet, my one year sewing challenge has gotten off to a slow start but I’m limping along!  I’ve realized that I’m missing a couple of posts on some garments I’ve made over the last couple of months so November will be all about catching up with those posts.  And of course, adding more garments to my wardrobe.  I’ve got lots of fabric and patterns to put to use!

That’s it for October!  I’d love to hear what you’ve been up to as well.  I always get so motivated when I hear all the great things others are up to!

Happy sewing!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. How’s your cabled scarf looking? Progress pic please! 🙂

    November 4, 2013
  2. Haha! Coming along nicely. I’ll definitely send you one. 🙂

    November 4, 2013

Leave a Reply

