Skip to content

Completed – A Pair of Renfrews

Can you believe it’s the middle of May already?!  So many exciting things happening around these parts but I’ll have to save that for another post.  I am bursting to talk about it but I have a few things to sort out first before I can elaborate.

But hey, guess what?!  I’ve added two more Renfrews to my collection of shirts!

DSCN1169 DSCN1168

Gah, these photos are TERRIBLE!  I almost didn’t write this post because I look so wretched in them but I really wanted to show these babies off and until I get a new camera I’ll have to make-do and you’ll have to suffer through blog posts with crappy pics.  Try not to judge harshly.   😉

Anyway, I found these bamboo fabrics (technically Rayon of Bamboo) at Fabricana last year and instantly fell in love with them.  They’re so, so soft!  And of course as many of you know by now, I’m a natural fibers kind-of-gal so couldn’t resist adding them to my stash with the intent of one day transforming them into tops.

Well one day has arrived!  Using the Renfrew pattern, I made the first one out of the black and white stripe version with the cowl neck.

DSCN1173

This fabric was much drapier (is this even a legit word??) than the purple and grey so of course it was destined to become the cowl-neck version.  And I think it was a match made in heaven between pattern & fabric.  Yes?

DSCN1171

And I mostly got the stripes to line up though there are some that are a little off. *sigh*  Whatevs.  I still wear it with pride.

DSCN1175

I hadn’t made a version with the 3/4 length sleeves so went for it with this top.  I love 3/4 length sleeves – they’re a great compromise between the long and short sleeve versions.  Especially when you’re forced to work in an office with refrigerator-like temperatures.

I think my favourite thing about this particular fabric is the versitility of the top.  I can wear it to work or wear it with a pair of jeans.  Best. Shirt. EVER!  Wanna see a close up of the cowl?  Yeah you do!!

DSCN1189

The other one I made is more casual, which I’m just as happy with.  This version I made long sleeves and a scoop neck.  It may be a bit too casual for work but this top gets a lot of wear at home – it looks really good with denim!

DSCN1165

For both versions I lengthened the front and back pieces by about 2″.  I found the first version I made (here) to be slightly short in the body and sleeves for my preference – I prefer my shirts to be a little longer so simply added some length in the appropriate areas.  For this version, I also lengthened the sleeves by about 1.5″ or so.

DSCN1185

 

I’ve used all three versions of the necklines offered in this pattern and they all come together great!  I used a stretch needle and a small zig-zag stitch and serge-finished the inside on both tops.

DSCN1187

I’m thinking I need some short sleeve versions for summer.

These tops are a quick make and such a great wardrobe staple!  If you haven’t gotten on the Renfrew bandwagon, you really ought to.  Don’t let sewing with knits hold you back!  Really, this pattern is a great way to boost your confidence in sewing with knits.

How about you?  This pattern is a betcha-can’t-make-just-one kind of a pattern so I’m curious to know how many Renfrews you’ve made so far.  And if you haven’t, what’s been holding you back?

A jolly good sewing day to you!

Did you know you can follow us on Bloglovin?

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/12290963/?claim=n69fptvnx8v”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Siobhan #

    Ooh I love these. The drape-y cowl neck is particularly lovely. And stripes are alllllways a good thing 🙂

    May 19, 2014
    • Thanks, Siobhan! I’m a big fan of stripes, too – or is it obvious! 🙂

      May 19, 2014

Leave a Reply

