Skip to content

Completed: A Green Alma

Yes, it’s a VERY green Alma Blouse!  And yes, I realize the Alma has been around for a while and I’m a little late to the party but whatevs.  Who says a pattern party has to end anyway?!  Okay, I have to gush about the colour before I go on with the details – I LOVE this colour!  It’s definitely one of my favs and I hope it looks as good on your monitor as it does in person.  ‘Cuz it’s GORGEOUS in person!  🙂  The Alma Blouse is a great top designed by Sewaholic and the pattern contains a few different views, which makes it a great go-to pattern for all seasons.  Since we’re well into spring, I’m madly trying to sew up some spring/summer garments that are versatile so I can wear them to work as well.  Versatility and being realistic with what I’m going to wear are my main objectives with my sewing this year and the Alma fits into those objectives well, don’t you think?

photo 2

I chose View A mostly because I love the shape of the neckline and the top-stitching detail.  Paired with the short sleeves, this was a perfect choice for my spring wardrobe.  In these pictures,  I’m wearing it with pants (I was on my way to work) but this top looks equally as great with a skirt or a pair of jeans.  You just can’t get much more versatile than that so this pattern is a total win in my books.

DSCN1181

The fabric is a rayon/nylon blend from Telio.  I think I’ve already established how much I love the colour but check out the texture – it gives a lot of depth to the fabric!

Close-up of V-neck & texture

Molly (my Diana dress form) doesn’t have the best skin tone. WHYYYYYY do they not make these dress forms in colours that better represent skin colours? (Pasty-white would work well for me – hahahaha!)

It was love at first site though I soon found out (the hard way, of course) that it definitely doesn’t like direct heat so a press cloth is in order when working with it but that aside, it’s looks really good!

photo 4 (1)

This was a relatively easy sew though I admittedly paused for a few minutes to wrap my brain around the instructions for attaching the binding to the arm hole & I almost wasn’t going to mention it but for the sake of transparency and to support beginners who read this blog, I think it’s good for those starting out to know that even experienced sewists run into obstacles every now and again.  Me sometimes more than others!  But the point is, persevering is the key to overcoming such obstacles.

When I make my next short-sleeved Alma (and I have another in mind already), I’ll have to add some length to the bodice, adjust the darts (obviously) and make some slight adjustments to the armhole as it doesn’t quite fit properly as is (again, obviously!) but since I didn’t make a muslin (yes, I know – MAKE A RUDDY MUSLIN ALREADY!) I’ll use this top as one to make the fit adjustments.  Even with the minor adjustments I did make, I still feel like the shirt’s a bit too small for me. (But isn’t that green amaze-balls?! Love!!)

photo 5

Hard to miss that gaping arm hole!

The fitting issues aren’t a big deal to me – since Sewaholic patterns are for pear-shaped women (which I’m not), I always anticipate having to make a few minor pattern adjustments to fit my own shape.  Which is why I usually make a muslin first.  Except for this time.  I just thought I’d kind of wing it on the go.  #FAIL

I did a combination of French seams and serge-finish to the inside of the garment just to mix things up and used my Blind hem foot for the bottom hem.  I completely forgot to take pics of the inside but may I also gush here (I know – a lot of gushing going on in this post!) about the blind hem foot?  Such a great option to hand sewing when you don’t want the stitching to show!

And how do you like the tie-belt?  I don’t usually wear one as I have some extra padding happening around the ole’ waist and I don’t really want to accentuate it but the belt is such a nice feature that I couldn’t resist.  Now I just have to learn how to tie a nice bow. *sigh*  🙂

photo 1

Now how about you?  Have you made an Alma?  What’s on your list to sew for spring/summer?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Green is one of my fave colors too. There was a time it was the only color I bought! … and late to the party? I am so late to the party on so many patterns most of the time the parties are over! But I am going to make it anyway if I like it! 🙂 Your Alma looks great! That is some great fabric!

    May 21, 2014
    • Thanks, Laurie! I’m so glad I’m not alone in the late department – it’s always nice to have company. 😉

      May 22, 2014
  2. The blouse is lovely, even with the issues! I also need versatile pieces in my wardrobe, so lately I’ve been trying to sew just those. Now I have a top and a skirt to finish, both work-appropriate – if only a day would have at least 30 hours! 🙂 And yes, the colour us to-die for!

    May 21, 2014
    • Thank you! Yes, I’m constantly juggling my schedule to get in my sewing time so a few more hours would really help! 😉

      May 22, 2014

Leave a Reply

