Skip to content

Serger Tip – An Easy Way to Match Thread & Fabric

I know weekends are supposed to be fun-filled but these days, my weekends are just as busy with work as my weekdays.  But it’s happy work that I love and thankfully the weather sucked it this weekend so I could steel away guilt-free.  Nope, no guilty sewing for me!

Anywho, this past weekend was all about sewing, sewing, and more sewing.  Nope, weekends filled with outdoor activities, selfish sewing and social nights out are currently on hiatus for this chicka.

So, how important is it to you that your serger thread matches your fabric?  Well there are definitely situations when it really matters to me that my thread, including my serger thread, matches my fabric.  (Unless of course I’m going for the contrast look.)  For example, I was working with a lighter colour fabric this past weekend and didn’t want to risk my serged seams glaring through the fabric.  And time was of the essence so doing something like French seams was out of the question.  And as luck would have it, I couldn’t find serger thread to match my fabric at any of the local sewing stores.  So what did I do?  I simply used regular spools of thread!

100m spools of  Gutermann thread

100m spools of Gutermann thread

Yes, I could just use a neutral colour and as I’ve heard many times over, all a person needs is light colour serger thread, a dark colour and something neutral in between such as a grey.  Use your white for lighter colours, black for darker and medium grey for everything else in between.  And most of the time this works for me.

Yet, there are some occasions where my everything-needs-to-be-perfect personality can’t stand my serger thread not matching my fabric.  And you know, even if I could find matching serger thread, I would have to consider how often I’d use the colour before spending the money on buying four spools of it because it’s a lot easier to stash and use up smaller spools of thread than it is to use up the big spools of serger thread.

DSCN1207

 

Often, I can get the regular spools of thread for 50% off so I just grab four extra spools of thread I’m going to use in my regular sewing machine.  So for about the same cost as one spool of serger thread, I get five spools of thread.  There is usually plenty of thread to get through a couple of projects.  Actually, there’s plenty more thread left over on the spools used for the needles in the serger – it’s the loopers that are the thread-hogs.

Thread as you would normally thread with serger thread

Thread as you would normally thread with serger thread

There’s nothing tricky about it – I just thread the serger as I would normally thread it.  Works like a charm!

Use regular-sized serger thread when using common colours such as black, white or beige

Use regular-sized serger thread when using common colours such as black, white or beige

Of course, I have standard colours (white, beige, black, etc.) for serger-sized spools of thread as I use those colours more frequently and it would definitely not be cost effective to use the smaller spools of thread for these colours.

DSCN1208

So that’s the little trick I use when I want my serger thread to match my fabric perfectly.  How about you – any serger tricks to add?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

