Skip to content

Miss Moss – A Denim Mini Skirt

Oh, Miss Moss is a beautie of a skirt made from the Moss Skirt pattern from Grainline Studio.  And best of all, the pattern is easy to sew and fits perfectly into my sewing agenda of versatility and practicality.  I’m so happy to have FINALLY removed this pattern from my “to-make” stack of patterns.  It’s been there for SOOOOO long! (And you know, that stack never seems to get smaller!) 

I’m a denim girl at heart. Don’t get me wrong, I love how confident & sophisticated I feel when I’m wearing something a little more professional/grown-up but man-oh-man do I love wearing a good pair of jeans/shorts/skirt and a t-shirt/tank & hoodie.

DSCN1217

So when I first came across the Moss Skirt pattern many moons ago, I knew I would be making a denim version. A total win for my summer wardrobe which is SERIOUSLY lacking at the moment.

The denim is from Telio.  It’s dark & beautiful with a bit of stretch to it, which makes it ridiculously comfortable.

DSCN1226

I’m totally in love with the weight of this denim.  Actually, I’m in love with everything about this denim.  I pre-washed twice and still the colour is as vibrant as it was before the initial wash.

The original length of the mini version was just a little too risqué/short for me so I added about 2″-3″ to the length.

DSCN1237

I really like the look of contrasting top-stitching on denim so decided to apply that to this skirt.  I’m so FREAKING thankful that I didn’t turf my old sewing machine because it sure is handy to have a second machine threaded for top-stitching.  I’m actually pretty happy with how it turned out though I realized part way through that I had forgotten to make my stitch length a bit longer.  I usually top-stitch at a length of about 3 and this was done at 2.5.  Not a terrible difference but enough that I noticed.  What do you think?

DSCN1225

My one regret is that I didn’t do a double line of top-stitching along the back yoke. Bah! #sewingregrets

WHYYYYYYYY didn't I do a double row of top-stitching along the back yoke?  WHYYYYYYY?

WHYYYYYYYY didn’t I do a double row of top-stitching along the back yoke? WHYYYYYYY?

Honestly, this skirt is such a quick and fairly simple sew, in my opinion.  I think there may be some people who are a little hesitant to make it because of the fly-front zip but if you practice on some muslin before tackling a project with a fly-front, it’ll help to give you some confidence.  I’ve read in many blogs that Jen (Grainline Studio) has a great tutorial on her site.  I can’t personally speak to it since I didn’t use it but you can find it here.  I also did a quick search on You Tube as well and quite a few tutorial videos came up.

DSCN1233

A highlight of this skirt (imo) is the fact that it has pockets that I can easily fit my hands in!  I used a lightweight cotton/spandex fabric that I had in my stash for the pockets.  The pattern piece for the pocket facing actually says to use the main fabric however I don’t need extra help in the padding department these days when it comes to my upper thighs so I used the same fabric as my pocket lining.

DSCN1227

I simply serged the inside seams and fake-flat felled seams as per the instructions.

DSCN1249

A nice neat finish on the inside is important to me and I’m really happy with how the inside of Miss Moss turned out.  Personally, I think the finishing on the inside makes a big difference between a garment looking and feeling home-made versus a garment looking and feeling professionally made.

DSCN1229

This skirt is definitely going to get a lot of wear this year.

DSCN1221

I’m thinking I may need to make another, though next time I’ll choose a different fabric.  Mabye a sateen… or even a twill!  Any suggestions for other fabric options?

DSCN1238

I do think I need some new tops to wear with this skirt.  Guess I know what my next few projects will be!

So tell me, have you made the Moss Skirt yet?

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Very cute skirt! I have a jean skirt on my to-make pile too!

    May 29, 2014
    • Thank you! Good luck with your jean skirt – I had a lot of fun making this one!

      May 30, 2014
  2. Looks great, Corinne! And please don’t feel bad about the missing row of topstitching on the yoke because I guarantee no one will ever notice. 🙂 I haven’t made the Moss yet, but I do love a simple skirt and might just buy the pattern one day. I love twill for skirts, if you decide to make another one!

    May 29, 2014
    • Awe thanks, Carolyn! I almost wasn’t going to mention it but it’s the one part I wish I’d done differently. I love twill too so will probably use that next time. I hope you do make it one day – it’s a great casual skirt!

      May 30, 2014
  3. Ali #

    Looks fab, and Carolyn’s right, no one will notice the top stitching. I’ve just made Maria Demarks Yasmin Yolk skirt, well 3 skirts!, and it was a toss up between that and the moss. Might try the moss now after reading your blog 😀

    May 30, 2014
    • Oh, that’s a great skirt too! If you like the style, then definitely give the Moss a go. Thanks about the top stitching – it actually isn’t bothering me as much as it did at first. Probably because I can’t see while I’m wearing it so I really don’t give it much thought! 🙂

      May 31, 2014

Leave a Reply

